Something Uplifting

Greetings, & hope you had a Happy Thanksgiving!

For this post I had planned some long-winded analytical discussion about giving yourself permission to be where you are. More about that next time.

But as I was trying to write it, something unexpected happened. I came across this wonderful song. I listened to it, then listened again, and again. And around the third time, something happened. I noticed my feet were tapping. My whole body felt as if it were humming happily along.

I surprised myself by realizing I was happy in the Now, totally fine with everything the way it was at that moment. I forgot to be anxious. I forgot to worry. And I didn’t need to take a pill, work any thoughts, dissolve anything, analyze anything! I just had to let myself be lifted up by the JOY.

I have noticed music can make me feel unreasonably, ridiculously good sometimes, in spite of my best efforts. Martha Beck said that poetry and music are unique in being able to engage both the left and right sides of the brain. Maybe that’s why it can  help us into the relaxed Flow state, or happy wordlessness.

I am wishing the same for you, but I’m not going to ruin the feeling by talking about it too much! And btw, I would LOVE to hear about your favorite Happy-in-the-Moment songs in the comments.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

